New governance structure – recent appointments

18th May 2021

Following recent open recruitment, a number of members have been appointed to various Committees and Groups:

Division Committee: Biomechanics and Motor Behaviour Undergraduate Student Representative – Syeda Shayma Ahmed CPD Representative – Rachel Mason

Division Committee: Physical Activity for Health Undergraduate Student Representative – Mastveer Ghatahora

Division Committee: Physiology and Nutrition Undergraduate Student Representative – Annabelle Davis

Public and External Affairs Advisory Panel
Members – Prof David Broom FBASES, Dr Rita de Oliveira, Prof John Dickinson FBASES, Dr Mark Faghy, Dr Matthew Green, Dr Neil Maxwell, Dr Mark Ross, Dr Andy Smith MBE FBASES, Dr Lauren Struszczak

Integrity Advisory Group
Members – Dr Neil Chester, Dr Emma Kavanagh, James Platt, Jack Sharkey

HE Endorsement Scheme Advisory Group
Members – Dr Kelly Marrin, Dr Matthew Timmis

The Sport and Exercise Science Editorial Group
Member (Physical Activity for Health) - Dr Lynne Boddy

Awards Advisory Group
Member - Dr Andy Galbraith

The BASES Board would like to thank all members who applied for the roles and want to congratulate those appointed into the roles. The ability to achieve the objectives within the new strategy is reliant on the hard work and support of our members – thank you to all members who give up their time, energy and expertise to serve on the various Standing Committees and Advisory Groups.


BASES stands for the British Association of Sport and Exercise Sciences. BASES is the professional body for sport and exercise sciences in the UK.

Contact us
  • Rooms G07 and G08 Fairfax Hall, Leeds Beckett University, Headingley Campus. Headingley, Leeds LS6 3QT
  • 07838 153258